Mr Reading

Information, Health, Gaming, Science and Technology Hub

Ex ISPR head General Asim Bajwa appointed special assistant to PM on Information.

ISLAMABAD (Pakistan) – Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chief Shibli Faraz has been appointed as Federal Information Minister, whilst China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) Authority Chairman and former DG ISPR Lt Gen (r) Asim Bajwa made Special Assistant to PM on Media.

Lieutenant General (r) Asim Saleem Bajwa has been appointed as Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Information and Broadcasting.

A notification in this regard has been issued with the aid of the Joint Secretary Cabinet Taimur Tajammal.

According to the notification, Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan has been removed from the office of SAPM on Information and Broadcasting.

Last year, the authorities had appointed Lt Gen (r) Asim Saleem Bajwa as chairman of the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor Authority (CPECA).

According to a notification issued through the Establishment Division, the equipped authority appointed Lt Gen (r) Bajwa as chairman of the CPECA, which comes beneath the planning and improvement ministry. “The new chairperson will get MP-I scale for a length of 4 years from the date of assuming the fee of the workplace with immediate effect and until in addition orders,” it stated.

Retired Lt Gen Bajwa had served as Commander Southern Command before his retirement. He remained director standard of the Inter-Services Public Relations from 2012 to 2016.

The authorities had established the CPECA through an ordinance in October, before the go to of Prime Minister Imran Khan to Beijing. The basic purpose of forming the authority is to make certain timely finishing touch of the CPEC projects. The top minister had said the CPECA will help make sure coordination the various departments concerned.

The authority had reportedly been given giant powers to summon any data related to CPEC sports and impose consequences on folks who fail to do so.

Meanwhile, Shibli Faraz is serving as the Leader of the House inside the Senate.

Back to top